Tags

, , , , ,

When I was little, I recall my mother constantly taking my hand to guide me. When we crossed the street, walked through a store, or waited in line for ice cream — my mother held a tight grip on me. She did this to protect me and keep me close by her. She used my hand to reassure her presence and to navigate me through the world safely.

Mothers are made after God’s own heart. He was the first to invent the beautiful art of hand-holding. God is a real fan of it and I love this about him! It’s such divine proof of his tenderness and nurturing desire for us. When the Lord has his hand wrapped around ours, there is nothing to fear. He is right beside us, leading us to walk in his ways, allowing us to snuggle up close beside him whether we’re on the move or just waiting in line for ice cream.

Psalm73:23-26

Yet, I am always with you; you hold me by my right hand. You guide me with your counsel, and afterword you will take me into glory. Whom have I in Heaven but you? And earth has nothing I desire besides you. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.

