Tags

, , , , , , ,

I LOVE David LaChapelle.  His work is full of imagination, beauty and energy. I stumbled upon these amazing pictures when I was “google imaging” Jesus (one of my favorite past times 😉 ) I discovered that he now has a show entitled , “Thus spoke LaChapelle.” It includes several surreal photographs depicting various christian themed scenes.

Sadly, the show is in Prague, so I won’t be visiting it any time soon. His work is being displayed at the Galerie Rudolfinum. If you live near by, check it out and let me know how awesome it is, so that I can feel even more bummed about not being able to view it.

For the rest of us who have to miss out, here are a few samples of the images in the exhibit.

Jesus truly is every believers Homeboy!

I love this shot! I can just imagine all the crazy questions everyone sitting around the table is asking Jesus, like why a homie had to get capped or if a particular loco cholo made it into heaven.

Jesus is the Light and the Way

This is such a great example of LaChapelle being able to take the historical image of Christ and place him in a modern-day scene. The blonde chick is super fashionable in her skinny tie-dyed jeans — J. Brand no doubt! The hoodlums extending their hands towards the Savior powerfully reflects a switch in submission. The typical lifestyle of street thugs is not that of playing the servant. This picture reminds me of 2 main scriptures in the Bible. The first is of the woman who bled for twelve years. She saw Jesus and said to herself

“If only I may touch the hem of his garment, I shall be made well.” Matthew 9:21

The second is in Isaiah 45:14

“They will come over to you and will be yours; they will trudge behind you, coming over to you in chains. They will bow down before you and plead with you, saying ‘Surely God is with you and there is no other; there is no other god.”

`

Courtney Love is a far cry from holy and Kurt Cobain was certainly no Jesus, which makes this picture all the more moving. It presents the idea that Christ can redeem all of us, no matter how far from righteousness living we are. Look how much Kurt resembles the crucified Christ! I wonder what was going on in the minds of these two during the process of shooting this.

The Archangel Gabriel

Awakened Jesse

To read more about David LaChapelle and this show, click HERE!

